Through the European Economic Area (EEA) Agreement, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are partners with the Member States of the European Union in the internal market.
As a way of promoting a continuous and balanced strengthening of economic relations trade, the parties to the EEA Agreement have established a multiannual Financial Mechanism, known as EEA Grants.
EEA Grants aim to reduce social and economic disparities in Europe and to strengthen bilateral relations between these three countries and the beneficiary countries.
For the 2014-2021 period, a total contribution of € 2.8 billion was agreed for 15 beneficiary countries. Portugal will benefit from a budget of 102.7 million euros.

Learn more at